Base Running Awards
When a runner is obstructed while advancing to the activated base by a fielder in direct pursuit of the ball, the umpire shall award a score if the obstruction occurred in foul territory; or an out to the defense if the obstruction occurred in fair territory (interference). If there is doubt as to whether the proper call is obstruction (defense, foul territory) or interference (offense, fair territory), the head umpire may call a replay. If there is interference away from the ball by a defensive player not in direct pursuit of the ball, the umpire may award a run to the offense if the umpire feels that the runner could have touched the activated base prior to the ball being legally fielded had there been no interference. Award may be made whether interference was in fair or foul territory.
The ball is it to the first base side, third base is activated, and the third baseman interferes in foul or fair territory with the runner attempting to reach third base preventing him / her from touching the activated base before the defense legally fields the ball. The umpire may award the run since the third baseman was obviously not in direct pursuit of the ball. Judgment is necessary to assure the runner did not seek the third baseman to instigate the contact and draw the award.
When a runner is obstructed by an umpire, or other game official, while advancing to the activated base; or a fielder is prevented from fielding a hit ball by umpire / official interference, the head umpire may award a score to the offense or an out to the defense, or call a replay.
- Section - / -